top of page

Do You Remember The Time....

...when we fell in love? 🎶

I just had to finish the lyrics, everyone loves some MJ. But all R&B nostalgia aside, remembering events of the past is actually what makes life enjoyable. If you were to really stop and think about it, the ability to remember is what gives us peace, connection to others  and even deeper -the ability to love. 

My husband and I were talking about our childhood the other day and how interesting it is that our ability to remember doesn't seem to really kick in until around 4, and even then unless it held some great significance we usually don't remember. I can remember all my teachers, but not all my previous telephone numbers growing up, why? Probably because  no one was calling for me, and I never really had to share my number- conclusion, not important. I admit it makes me wonder, why does God choose the time, the events and the people that he has caused us to remember and why some we forget ?

A week ago I went Apple picking with a couple friends, I brought my 4month old along and a trusty camera (because if you don't have photos, did it even happen?) As I began snapping pictures of a few of his "first moments" it hit me, he will not remember this. As harmless as it is, all his smiles, discoveries and any worries will be forgotten - or rather, never stored in his memory to begin with. 

A touch of something new.

A sweet smile.

My pumpkin with pumpkins.

XO.

I asked the question earlier, why God has chosen certain things for memories and others unstored, but I trust God, and I know whatever the reason is, is for the best. Though I would love for this day to be remembered by little boy, I will have lots of fun telling him the story one day, showing him the pictures - and of course making unforgettable memories in the future.

What's your earliest childhood memory?...

Join the tribe & SUBSCRIBE
 

bottom of page