top of page

Grateful

Thanksgiving is one of my favorite times of year. I love getting together with family for a big meal, having the day off work (when that used to be relevant to my life), listening to oldies and playing games. This year as I got ready for Thanksgiving dinner at my moms I was beyond excited for some reason, maybe because this Thanksgiving would be different with a baby. 

After a few outfit changes, clothes thrown on a pile on the bed we were finally all ready. We began to drive towards the highway for our 20 minute ride to my moms, not too far from home I saw a man walking- this is where I felt my heart sink a little. He was walking with a bag of Popeyes, I instantly felt bad for him. He may have been the happiest man on earth with his crispy fried Louisiana style chicken (and if he was  smart he would have a biscuit or two as well), but I thought dang -really, Popeyes? 

Everyone has their traditions and even their circumstances that may not be their ideals, but rather their realities but this one made me wonder why he was spending his Thanksgiving that way- was he alone, was it for his family. So many questions ran through my mind and all potential answers that were none of my business- but there I was, wondering. I was instantly humbled, thankful, grateful, and feeling blessed to know I had family, friends and loved  to celebrate with. 

Sometimes we need to see things that will remind us of what we have, we complain far too much about what we don't have and don't spend enough time appreciating whatever it is that we have- and more importantly who has provided it for us. 

 "Oh, give  thanks to the lord for he is good!  His mercy endures forever. "

1Chronicles 16:34

Join the tribe & SUBSCRIBE
 

bottom of page